A stitch.

The day has finally come. Really, it’s amazing that it hasn’t come sooner. Yesterday, Seth got his first stitch.
He was running in the hallway wearing sunglasses (of course) when he slipped and fell flat on his face. Unfortunately the sunglasses had slid up to his forehead during the fall so he landed right on the nosepiece. It bled a lot. Seth cried for a bit but he settled down pretty quickly. We decided a trip to a doctor was warranted. I didn’t want to head straight to the ER for an inevitably long wait so we decided to try the walk-in clinic. They could at least tell us if we needed to go to the ER or not I thought. Seth was completely happy eating his fruit snacks and playing with toys in the waiting room. Here’s a shot of his forehead pre-dr’s visit: He looks like I just told him that we were going to Disney World with that smile on his face! The smile disappeared when the doctor told him it would need a stitch. We were so lucky- he stitched it up right there in the office. Seth put on a brave face but the tears came with the local anaesthetic (but seriously, I’ve seen grown-ups cry when they get freezing, so I don’t blame him!). Here’s his head post-stitch:

With band-aid in place we headed home (less than 45 minutes after arriving!). Honestly I have to admit I was strangely excited by the whole event. As a kid I always wished I could get stitches (don’t ask, I don’t know). Now I am living vicariously through my poor injured child. Life is good.

3 thoughts on “A stitch.

  1. Helen Knox says:

    Nikki…that is too funny…your reaction I mean! I had stitches when I was younger and it was NOT fun! Poor Seth!

  2. Kristin says:

    I had stitches three times as a kid, always on my face. I hope my kids NEVER need them. Not fun.
    Seth looks like he was pretty brave.

I love your comments! Leave one!

