Imagination.

Ben takes his imaginative play very seriously.
When he is in character, he must not be referred to as anything other than his character.
Example:
Ben is tearing around the house on all fours, growling, being a “bad tiger”.
Me: “Ben! Can you please quiet down!”
Ben: “NO! I am NOT Ben! I am a bad tiger!”
Me: “Okay. Tiger, can you please quiet down?!”
Ben: “No! I am a BAD tiger!”
Me: “OKAY. BAD tiger, will you please quiet down?!!!”
Ben: “Okay.”
This happens on a very regular basis. Quite a few times a day actually, so we have all learned to only refer to Ben as his character when he is playing like that. Even Seth has figured it out. Case in point: This is what occurred this morning:
Seth: “Ben- you want to come downstairs with me?”
Ben: “No. I am a ‘cepticon!” (Decepticon- the bad transformers?)
Seth: “Decepticon, do you want to come downstairs with me?”
Ben: “No. I am a BAD ‘cepticon!”
Seth: (chuckles to himself like he is actually 34, not just 4) “Okay. BAD decepticon, you want to come downstairs with me to play?”
Ben: “Yeah!!”
It’s kind of hilarious. Our conversations with Ben always take about three times longer than necessary while we sort out the nuances of his character.
And just because every post is better with pictures…

I love your comments! Leave one!

