Super Mom I am not.

Lots of people ask me how I do it. How do I manage to sew with three little kids tearing around? How do I manage to get three kids out the door in a semi-timely manner? How do I even manage to have a shower?
Sometimes people have called me Super Mom because of these so-called skills I have.
Well, Super Mom I am not.
How do I manage to have a shower?
Because my livingroom looks like this:
It almost always looks like that. Yes, that is laundry from three days ago waiting to be put away sitting on the couch.

How do I find time to sew? Because my kitchen looks like this:

Yes, of course, that IS an Iron Man poster on the counter top. And why wouldn’t the carseat be in the kitchen? Also, stacks and stacks of I don’t even know what everywhere.

And how did I manage to get all of us out the door to get Seth to school on time this morning? Because I left my bedroom looking like this:

Why, yes, that IS more laundry waiting to be put away. And some dirty laundry too. And some kids’ books on the floor. Why not?

I’m not a terrible housekeeper, but I’m definitely not a great one. I usually try to get everything semi-tidy before Neil comes home from work, but sometimes that just doesn’t happen because my priority happened to be a nap instead of housework on a particular day.  I do try to do one “chore” a day but it’s 7:12 pm and I haven’t done today’s chore yet so I probably won’t. Who wants to clean bathrooms anyway?

Anyway, now you know the truth. I am not amazing. I’m normal. I DO sew and I DO shower and I DO occasionally take my kids places. But when those things happen, other things do not. I’m okay with that. We’re happy and loved and that’s good enough for me. I bet it’s good enough for you too!

5 thoughts on “Super Mom I am not.

  1. Dad says:

    Sounds like you’ve got a good balance. Your house is clean, so what if it’s a little messy. If you did all you do, raised 3 kids and had a perfectly organized house I’d be afraid for your children! (my grandchildren).

  2. grammy says:

    I’m with dad – tidy is over-rated. I always wished I’d played more, tidied less…. 😦
    I love seeing your house like that – lived in and enjoyed, and the dirty little secret is out – we all have houses like that. If it’s tidy on the outside, don’t open the closets!

  3. Christine says:

    Nikki – I laughed so hard at this! I loved your pictures and how honest you were. I think naps should come before cleaning too sometimes. 🙂

  4. Deanna McCowan says:

    Only boring women have clean houses. 🙂

    And I still think you’re pretty great. I also support any nap-related activity. Who doesn’t love naps?!?!

I love your comments! Leave one!

