How refreshing.

Sometimes when we’re busy, the kids get themselves a drink of water from the bathroom. This morning Seth was kind enough to get a drink for Ben when he was thirsty. Seth even came to tell Neil about it.

“Hey Dad- I gave Ben a drink of toilet water!” (chuckle chuckle chuckle).

Neil somehow managed to stay calm in this situation.

I asked Neil if Seth was just joking. (No.) Did Ben actually drink it?

“Ben, did you drink that water Seth gave you?”

“Yeah. It was toilet water.” Said very matter-of-factly. “I only drank a little bit of it.”

Tiny consolation at least the toilet was flushed. (Maybe?)

I think it’s safe to say that Seth will not be getting a job in the hospitality industry when he’s older.

Also overheard this morning, from Ben to Seth, “I don’t like you Seth!” This is heard on a semi-regular basis around here, along with variations such as “You’re never going to be my brother anymore!” or the dreaded “I don’t love you!” This always results in Ben sitting in a corner until he decides we’re worthy of being called family again. Seth knows this, so on hearing Ben’s mean words this morning, immediately retorted, “I’m telling Mom!!!”

At which point I heard Ben hurriedly saying, “I like you! I LIKE you!”

All this before 7:12 am.

It’s mornings like these that I like to remember moments like these:

These two are so lucky to have each other.

2 thoughts on “How refreshing.

I love your comments! Leave one!

