It’s a girl!!!

Okay, okay, before you get too excited…
It IS a girl, but it’s not what you think.
We got a puppy!
And SHE’S a girl. Yes, we finally added another female to our family, and I couldn’t be happier about it.
I’ve been practically begging Neil for a dog for months now, and he’s always said, “no. no. NO.”
But sometimes he’d say, “Maybe. But only if it’s a bulldog.” I did my research and came to the conclusion that even though the name bulldog kind of scares me for some reason, apparently bulldogs make great family pets and are fairly low energy, which is good for a family who may not like to take their dog on a vigorous run twice a day. But still, I thought, bulldogs are big. I don’t really want a big dog. And never mind all that anyway, bulldogs are dang expensive, and we just don’t have that kind of disposable cash.
But then I found a cheapy bulldog on kijiji. I knew right away that this could be our ticket to being a dog family. I emailed Neil the link and by the end of the day we were driving out to see the puppy. And as soon as I saw the puppy running across the lawn, I knew she was ours. Neil would be powerless against her cute little face and her slightly wrinkly skin and her too-big paws. And I was right.
Before I knew it we were handing the lady a deposit and making a list of all the things we would need before we picked our puppy up a few days later. Note: all those puppy supplies add up! Especially when you need to buy a BIG kennel. Sheesh.
But it’s all worth it, because now we have a dog.

Her name is Dotty. The picking of the name was quite an ordeal with Seth throwing out names like Fire Bullet, Zippleback, and even Pocahontas. Nothing Neil or I suggested cut it for him, and it was VERY important to Seth that he get to pick out the name. When he suggested Dot I jumped on it, and now that we’ve got her home with us, Dotty really does suit her perfectly.

It’s only been 48 hours, but we’re all smitten (including Neil- imagine!!). She’s settled in really nicely with our family and has been very well behaved, even sleeping almost all night in her kennel and barely fussing at all. She’s definitely the easiest baby we’ve ever had. She follows the kids around the backyard and lays on our rug chewing on her toys. She plays nicely and chills out a lot too. The kids are happy, and I’m happy, and dare I say, Neil’s happy too.

And I realize 99.7% of the people who are reading this or who already know we just got a puppy think we’re crazy (and several of you have said that to our face). And yes, maybe you’re right. But I think crazy works for us. We like the crazy.

Welcome to the family, Dotty!

Also, I make no apologies if I find out this fourth child I’m carrying is a boy and then at some point you see pictures of Dotty wearing pink accessories that may or may not be limited to things like collars, leashes, dog apparel, and maybe even boots. What’s a girl to do?

4 thoughts on “It’s a girl!!!

  1. Deanna McCowan says:

    I fully support — and even encourage — the dressing of the pupper.

    Also I do think you guys might be a little nutty for getting a puppy with everything you got goin’ on. BUT if anyone can manage it all, you can!
    AND she’s super cute and the boys look pretty happy 🙂

    CONGRATS!

  2. Kristi says:

    The beginning of this post was a little cruel….I inhaled and held my breathe with excitement over your announcement =) But then it was the dog not the baby you were talking about =) Congrats on the puppy! You have an awesome family!

I love your comments! Leave one!

