Oats and Molasses Bread

Even though I’m sad summer is basically over and I’m shivering in the much-cooler temperatures, I do love baking and cooking in the fall and winter. I do bake bread over the summer too, but there’s something so nice about fresh, hot bread with a steaming bowl of soup in the falltime.

One of my favorite breads to make is the oats and molasses bread from Canadian Living. It’s just so yummy slathered with butter hot out of the oven and it’s also so yummy toasted with some jam. It’s just goodness.

See?


I need some. Right now.

You want some too, right? Well go make some then!

Oat and Molasses Bread (adapted from Canadian Living)

1 1/4 cup boiling water

3/4 cup large flake oats (I just use whatever I have around, which lately has been quick oats. Still works!)

1/3 cup fancy molasses

2 tablespoons butter, softened

1 egg, beaten

1 teaspoon sugar

1/2 cup warm water

1 tablespoon active dry yeast

4+ cups of flour (I use a few cups of whole grain flour and a couple of whole wheat)

1 3/4 teaspoon salt

topping:

1 egg, beaten

2 tablespoons oats

Okay, here’s how to put it all together….

Stir boiling water with oats. Let stand 15 minutes. Then stir in molasses, butter, and egg.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, dissolve sugar in warm water, and then sprinkle in the yeast. Let stand until frothy, about 10 minutes. Then stir in the oat mixture.

At this point you stir in about 2 1/2 cups of the flour and the salt, and stir until it makes a sticky dough. Then turn it onto a floured surface and keep sprinkling the rest of your flour onto it, kneading it in. Keep adding flour until you have a nice smooth and elastic dough. I actually pretty much let my kitchenaid stand mixture do all this work for me. I find I usually need at least five cups of flour, maybe even more, until my dough is nice and smooth and not too sticky. I read somewhere that when making bread with whole wheat flour it’s always a little stickier than regular white flour breads, and you want it to stay a little tiny bit sticky otherwise it will get too dry.

ANYWAY, once you have a nice, smooth, and elastic dough, place it into a large, greased bowl, turning it over once so the whole ball of dough is greased. Cover the bowl with saran wrap and let it rise until it’s doubled in size (about an hour or an hour and a half).

Once it’s doubled in size, punch it down, let it rest a few minutes, and then divide it in half, form loaves, and place it into your bread loaf pans (I think I usually grease the bread pans). Let it rise until doubled again.

Brush the loaves with the beaten egg and sprinkle with oats (I pretty much always forget this step. It doesn’t matter.)

Bake at 375F for about 40 minutes.

Then eat your lovely bread with the very delicious broccoli and cheddar soup you just made. And be happy.

3 thoughts on “Oats and Molasses Bread

I love your comments! Leave one!

