Making gnocchi.

Seth is obsessed with gnocchi. It’s been the only form of potato I could ever get him to eat, and he usually eats it like it’s his last meal. He frequently asks if he can have “me-oki”, even for breakfast sometimes.
I usually just buy gnocchi from Superstore right by where the dry pasta is. It’s good enough I guess, but I thought we should give home-made gnocchi a whirl. My grammy makes it all the time. I asked her how and she told me, “Just use leftover mashed potatoes. That’s all.” I was pretty sure there was more to it than that, but you know how grammy’s are- they don’t actually know any “recipes”, everything’s in their heads and hearts because they’ve made it so many times they don’t even think about it anymore.
Anyway, Grammy’s gnocchi is yummy. We wanted to try it ourselves. We didn’t have years of experience backing us up, but we did have Google. So I did some research and then sort of winged it. I had leftover mashed potatoes in the fridge. We added a beaten egg, some flour, and some parmesan cheese until it looked and felt like a dough, and then we went to town.
The kids had a lot of fun and were actually really helpful. Although many websites described gnocchi as “fluffy little pillows of potato goodness” and ours were more often flattened like sheets, it was fun to make.
It didn’t take too long until we had a plate of little gnocchis.
I was feeling pretty pleased with myself (and my children) and Seth was really excited to eat supper. Maybe I should have put the gnocchi in the fridge until we cooked it, or laid them out single file instead of in a pile, but when I went to put them in the boiling water they were sort of stuck together. They did fall apart in the pot but they were still pretty mushy. Anyway, no pictures of the finished gnocchi because it just wasn’t very photogenic. It DID taste yummy though and Seth gobbled up two plates full. I think we’ll try gnocchi again sometime, but maybe we’ll have a training session with Grammy first!

2 thoughts on “Making gnocchi.

  1. lydia purple says:

    i’ve been doing home made gnocchi for a while now and i tried different things but they still don’t come out photogenic – but always tasty. one thing i know for sure is that if you use too much flour they will always come out messy. it sort of blows up in the water…
    my husband (who once worked in an italian restaurant) says to actually make them the night before, lay them out on a baking sheet and put them in the freezer overnight. then straight from the freezer to the boiling water. i did it once and it was the best outcome so far.

    i believe it also depends on the kind of potato you use. some are more moist when mashed, some are more dry-doughey…
    one more thing… i usually put a pinch of nutmeg in, so tasty!

I love your comments! Leave one!

