He’s got mad skills.

Last week winter came. I knew it was coming and I thought I was prepared.
But then there were all the snowsuits and boots and mitts and hats and mud and slush and bah, I decided I hated winter. And we still had five more months.
One of the problems I had with winter was our house. When we were househunting I really wanted to find a house with a mudroom. It was pretty high up on my priority list. But then we found this house, and we loved it, and it didn’t have a mudroom. It did have a very big front entryway with a double closet, which I assumed would be more than enough.
I forgot, though, how difficult it is to actually open a closet and place a pair of shoes inside, never mind actually hanging a coat up. Besides, the kids could definitely not reach the rod to hang coats up on, even if they did know how to work a hanger.
So after a week of winter in our new house, I had had it. Coats were everywhere. Boots were everywhere. Everything was everywhere.

We had actually put away a tonne of stuff before that picture was taken. But notice all the coats just draped over the banister there? Messy. And usually there was an average of 6-8 coats there at any given time. I know there are only 5 of us, but that’s just how it works in real life. Only one of them was mine though, I promise!
We did previously have a table-thing here in this space, and it was nice because I could put a few of my favorite pictures on it, and it had drawers to put our keys in, and a shelf that I put a basket of winter stuff on. But it wasn’t serving enough of a purpose to stay there. So on Friday we moved it to a new spot. Because we had plans for this little space.

Well, I had plans. Neil was going to make those plans happen for me. We went to Rona on Friday and stocked up on supplies. By the time we went to bed Friday night, Neil had built this:

Considering that Neil had basically no previous experience in carpentry, I was impressed.
The next morning we added some MDF pieces to the wall.

By we, I mean Neil.
Then, everything got primed and painted.

And then, less than 48 hours after we began, we had a perfect mini-mudroom.

I’m in love with it, and I’m pretty sure it will change my life. It’s got a cubby and a hook for all of our kids (even the unborn). Now they’ve got a space to hang up their snowpants and coat and tuck their boots. I think Neil and I are old enough that we can handle putting our coats and shoes away in the closet. Well, at least if company’s coming or something.
It’s amazing and exactly what I wanted.

My husband, he’s got mad skills.

10 thoughts on “He’s got mad skills.

  1. Deanna McCowan says:

    Neil is awesome. There’s no denying it.

    It looks awesome!!

    We might even steal your idea for our front door!! πŸ™‚
    (We have neither a front closet, or a back closet. Not sure what’s going on here…)

  2. Courtney says:

    That is impressive! I wish I had something like that!!!! Not enough space in our entryway though- and unfortunately, no mudroom for me either. Gonna have to figure something else out!

  3. Breanne says:

    Genius you guys! Wish I had this in my house…all our jackets are draped over the couch 😦 You are absolutely right that Neil has mad skills!

  4. Nate says:

    Good job buddy.

    I was actually putting up a shelf and hooks for our boys at the exact same time. Not nearly as extravagant as yours though.

I love your comments! Leave one!

