It’s ready.

The room is ready. Ready enough anyway. It’s got new paint, new lighting, new curtains, and a sort-of-new lamp. It needs a shelf, but I’m callin’ it ready.
And I love it. Want a tour? Before we started, the room was just a plain box painted greige, the same color as the rest of our house. I liked the color, but it wasn’t doing it for me for a babies’ room. So now…

It might look a little boring to you. No, there’s no pink. Not really anyway. There’s not really any fancy schmancy. But we’re not that fancy schmancy so it works I think. Besides, Oliver and the new baby will be sharing, and I don’t think he’d want it too frou frou.
On to the tour.
Curtains! I bought this fabric online- it’s Echo by Lotta Jansdotter. I love it. I wish I’d got more, because I barely had a scrap worth saving after making the curtains. See that pretty pleat? I made back tabs! (google it). These were so easy to make and I love the way they hang. And don’t you love the new curtain rod? I think it goes really nicely with our new light fixture…. Don’t you love it? Oh, what’s that? Oh, that’s a purple ceiling! Isn’t it awesome?! I was always planning on painting the room white, but a brilliant friend of ours suggested painting the ceiling a nice color, and we love it. It’s one of our favorite parts of the room.
I had a cheap little Ikea lamp that we’ve had hanging around for basically forever. I found a pretty idea for a lampshade DIY on Pinterest. So an evening of hot glue and strips of fabric, plus a little white spray paint, and voila…It’s probably the prettiest thing in the room. And it was basically free!
By the way, why had no one ever told me how fun spray paint was before? Check out these awesome frames: Believe me, they were not so awesome before. They were various shades of yucky gold or silver or something. I picked them up cheap at HomeSense, Neil added some spray paint, and now they’re beautiful! I’m lovin’ the white frames on the white wall. Once the baby comes, I’d like to swap out a photo with a lovely little set of pink baby footprints. For now we’ve got a print I bought from a shop on Etsy, a couple photos of newborn Oliver, an original painting (by Oliver), and a swatch of fabric. I think it’s a nice mix.
Hmmm, what else? Oh yeah, I made my own chalkboard paint! Then painted a sweet chalkboard on the wall by the closet. It’s pretty fun.
What else? Oh, a pile of pretty flannel swaddling blankets. Oh I hope I get to swaddle this baby in one them soon. Like, very soon. Please.
So that’s about it. Oh but Oliver needed something new too, right? He loves pillows, and he’s big enough for one of his own now. I sewed up a nice new pillowcase for him. He loved it. So that’s it. Do you like it as much as I do? If you’re wondering where the baby will sleep in this new room of hers, she probably won’t for awhile. She’ll have to make do in a pack’n’play in her parents bedroom for awhile. If she’s a good lil sleeper (which is unlikely given this family’s track record) she can move into the nice new room pretty soon. I’m hoping to have Oliver in a bed in 6 months or so, and then the baby can have the crib. And everyone will sleep soundly all night in their pretty new room, right?
Right?

5 thoughts on “It’s ready.

  1. mamaa says:

    Nikki, you are absolutely amazing and half crazy, look at all that stuff- so gorgeous! Can’t wait to snuggle that new baby too!

  2. Chelsea says:

    Wow, it looks awesome! You are so talented and creative. I especially love the picture frames. I would never think to simply make ugly ones look pretty with paint! You are a genius!!!!!! (When I did our photo gallery wall, I spent AGES looking for just the right frames…literally it took months! Your idea is aweome and turned out so perfect!) I also love the ceiling. What a great idea.

  3. Susan Beauchamp says:

    Thank you for the tour. It was so much fun. What an amazing collection of great ideas. You really are amazing. Can’t wait to see this little bundle of pink!!!

  4. Bonnie says:

    Oh you are so talented! What a great idea about the picture frames.! I plan on stealing that idea from you. If anyone asks, I’ll give you credit.

I love your comments! Leave one!

