Two weeks.

Ivy is two weeks old today.
Best two weeks ever.
No, seriously, this baby is so nice. She’s slept most of the last two weeks. When she’s not sleeping, she’s usually just looking around, checking stuff out, being cute, that sort of thing. She’s had some little fusses, but very, very few. They’re not really worth mentioning, really. She sleeps at night, too. Always at least three hours between feeds, often a four hour stretch, and a couple times, FIVE hours! What the what?! I swear, the other kids were months (and months) old before they even slept three hours at a time at night. It’s such a nice treat. Sheesh, I didn’t even nap today. And it’s 7:30 pm and I’m still alert. (Mostly.) She’s still a tiny little peanut, weighing in at 7-5 at her doctor appointment yesterday. She’s been a slow gainer, but she’s almost at her birth weight again. I’m not worried about her. In fact, I’m a tiny bit relieved she’s not packing on the pounds. Babies are tiny for such a short period of time- why rush it…
Anyway, we love her. It’s pretty neat how in a span of two weeks (although really, it happens within minutes), you can go from never having met someone to forgetting life ever existed without her.
Ivy’s so sweet, she’s even given us some smiles already. And with her dimple, oh the cuteness. I haven’t been able to catch a real smile, but I did miraculously catch a sleep smile today. She smiles in her sleep a lot, which makes me happy. I like to think she’s having happy dreams about her so-far very happy little life. Regardless of why she smiles (and I refuse to call them gas smiles- I mean, have you ever smiled because you had gas? No, I didn’t think so), I love them, and I’m happy to see them. I can’t wait to see more.

See what I mean about that dimple? Dying.
Happy two weeks Ivy! You’re great!

4 thoughts on “Two weeks.

  1. Dara says:

    dimples get me every time too. and i refuse to say they’re “gas smiles” too cuz rorin has been smiling in his sleep since he was 2 days old and there has never been any gas involved at all. they’re just happy babies 🙂

  2. Deanna McCowan says:

    she’s adorable! glad you’re soaking up the love and SUPER happy you’re getting so much rest!! what a great surprise!

  3. Bonnie McKenzie says:

    LOL..I always get a chuckle when I read your blogs. Anyway, about gas..aren’t they called “gas PAINS”. Who ever smiled when they were in pain?? I’m a total believer of sleep smiles. She’s beautiful Nicole.

I love your comments! Leave one!

