Today.

It’s 12:04.

So far today,

I’ve changed 6 diapers.
I got a 5 year old out the door to catch the bus.
I drove my three-year old, 20 month-old, and 3 week old to preschool to drop off the three-year old.
I drove home. Unloaded everyone.
Loaded everyone up, drove back, picked the 3 year old back up. Wish preschool lasted longer than 2 1/2 hours.
I’ve nursed Ivy 4 times.
I washed Oliver’s hair, that was covered in syrup. I also washed part of the floor, and part of the couch. No, we didn’t even eat pancakes today. Oliver just helped himself to the syrup from the pantry.
I’ve tried putting Ivy to bed in her OWN bed three times. She’s slept between 19 seconds and 40 minutes each time. At which point I pick her up and rock her back to sleep and try again, or put her in her carseat to go pick up her brother, or leave her crying because I’m washing someone’s syrup hair or something like that.
I’ve washed, dried, and folded two loads of laundry. They may or may not get put away.
I’ve called three different people trying to track down the right people, who’s away from the phone anyway.
I left a message, again. Why can people not call back in a timely manner?
I brushed my teeth. Major accomplishment. I couldn’t remember the last time I did this.
I drank two cups of coffee. Without which none of the above would have gotten done.
I looked at my finger. A lot.
because I’m wearing this:
OHmygosh- so pretty! I’m not sharing a picture of it on my hand because I need a manicure (ha!) and my skin is so dry I look like I have old-lady alligator hands. Anyway, Neil gave the ring to me, of course. He bought it awhile ago, so the story goes, to give to me on our tenth anniversary, which is this summer. But I guess watching me thrash and yell and deliver our fourth child, our first daughter, was enough to convince him that this would be appropriate timing to gift me with some diamonds.
I couldn’t agree more.
The last few days have been more than a bit rough, due to some issues I will hopefully share when they are (hopefully, if ever) resolved. I spent a lot of time on Friday crying, but every time I looked at my hand, I felt a teeny bit happier.
I love my new ring, and I love my husband, who loves me even though I make terrible, horrible, stupid mistakes that could end up costing us loads of cash. Thanks Neil, you’re the bestest ever.

11 thoughts on “Today.

  1. mamamaa says:

    that is the most beautiful ring I have ever seen! Love it, and love you…. and you will get through everything….. I love you. xoxox

  2. dara says:

    i had keegan enrolled in a preschool that only last 2.5 hours and i pulled him out cuz i couldn’t take driving him (and the other 2) 15 minutes(one way) for that little amount of time. kudos to you for getting that done. i feel like all i do most days is change diapers, nurse rorin, wash diapers, and clean up messes that allistar makes. we haven’t had to clean up syrup yet, but yesterday was poop. nice ring! all i got for a push present was 2 bottles of Pink Truck wine – but i’m not complaining. it can only get easier right? 🙂

  3. Deanna McCowan says:

    1. Neil is beyond awesome.
    2. So are you. Everyone makes mistakes. I’ve made more than my fair share.
    3. That ring is AMAZIIIING!!! I love it! You deserve it!
    4. This might be hard to believe but money, as important as it is in our lives, is just money and you are fantastic and Neil loves you no matter what. (It’s part of his awesomeness)

    I hope everything works itself out really soon. Big Hugs!

  4. Chelsea says:

    You are an awesome mama. I don’t know how you do it, to be honest. I only hope when my babies are all home in one place that I can accomplish as much in a day as you do 🙂 Keep up the good work, you are an inspiration to the rest of us mamas!

  5. Susan Beauchamp says:

    Wow. What a day. Brings back some pretty powerful memories. That ring is incredible. (that is not one of the powerful memories!!) Business and mistakes. They were ever present. Know that you are loved.

  6. Bonnie McKenzie says:

    Oh Nicole, the ring is beautiful. I think all women deserve diamonds when they give birth. And I agree to what was said above…you are an awesome mama and wife. Money is only paper (or plastic now) and in the end, it doesn’t mean anything if you don’t have love.

    • Bonnie McKenzie says:

      Ok..so, I shouldn’t type when I’m tired. What I was actually trying to say in that last sentence was that money isn’t everything. It’s just money. What’s most important is the love of family.

  7. Anita says:

    Found you via DesignMom. What an amazing mother you are! We have to stick up for each other, you know, and I think you are doing an awesome job! Congratulations on your girl – I have a gaggle of boys (7) and a single girl, myself. Keep putting one foot in front of the other, and we all get through it (without killing any children!).

  8. Molly W. says:

    Your ring is beautiful! I was wondering if you wouldn’t mind sharing some more photos of it (via email) from the side? I’m having my ring re-designed since it broke (boo!) and am curious what yours looks like from a different angle. Thanks for blogging!!

I love your comments! Leave one!

