Uninspired.

I know I’ve been a blog slacker lately. I just feel like I’m trapped in a place that leaves very little time to be inspired to write or be creative in any way, shape, or form. I want out of this place but having four small children makes it seem almost impossible. I’m trying so hard to be better at keeping my house in a somewhat tidy state. At least trying to clean bathrooms weekly. Trust me, with three boys in the house, that’s a necessity. But I’m realizing that trying to keep the house clean-ish, or even just trying to get one main task done every day, even if it’s something as small as cleaning one bathroom, leaves basically no time for anything else. It probably sounds pathetic, and maybe you’re thinking that I must just be terribly unorganized with my time, and maybe I am. But I don’t know, it’s just an endless cycle of feeding and washing up and folding laundry and breastfeeding, over and over and over again. It’s hard to find any creative time or me time in there. But I think I need to, because I’m feeling so irritable and blah about life these days, and that’s not really how I want to live. It’s so hard to find a balance in life, and maybe even impossible, but I would like to try. I wonder, is it possible to have less pee on my bathroom floors AND have some fun in life too? I would like to hope so. It’s a busy season, this four little children thing, but it’s a short one, I know. I’m up to my eyeballs right now, but one day I won’t be. So I’ll try not to complain. And hopefully some inspiration will find me soon.

And on that note, look, Ivy is in a booster seat while we wait for her new high chair to arrive.

She thinks it’s the bestest.

And look at my brown-eyed babies together.

They even have the same haircut.

Yep, so many good things in life still.

8 thoughts on “Uninspired.

  1. Chelsea says:

    Oh my goodness, you took the words right out of my mouth! You have one more kid than me, so maybe I have no excuse, but man, they keep me busy. And don’t worry, my bathrooms are rarely clean, and the house always look like a tornado just whipped through. I need to make some time for myself too, but there are only so many hours in the day, and too many little bums to be wiped! 🙂 Thanks for posting so honestly, makes me feel better knowing I am not alone!!!!!

  2. mama! says:

    Your reality is a little tough right now – and I think you are right – try and keep creative – that’s what will give you joy (as well as those little smiling adorable faces)….. the endless drudgery is tough.

  3. Maureen says:

    Well my house is spotless! No wait, that’s the wine talking. I’m utterly impressed you get anything done at all my friend. I only have one child and my house is so disgusting that I can’t imagine what it would look like if my dog’s didn’t slurp up all that dribbles out of the baby’s mouth and vice versa. I actually got out of the house for a break today! It was to go for physio due to tendonitis from picking up my baby. It was wonderful. I told my husband I felt like I had wings because it was the first time out without the baby and paraphernalia in tow. I came home to a beet-red, tear-stained baby and likewise husband. So much for freedom. Now about creativity Let’s see Zzzzzzzz. Seriously Nicole, you are the most creative, organized, together person I know so don’t be hard on yourself. This will pass and you will fly once again!

  4. Karla says:

    Ha ha! I’ve been thinking the exact same thoughts lately! My single, living with mom and dad sister was telling me the other day about all the movies she’s watched, books she’s read, places she’s been lately. When I said that I just don’t have much time for that stuff these days, she suggested I do it after the kids are in bed. Ha! Now that I’m back at work full time, my “after the kids are in bed time” is also my “make lunches, fold laundry, pack backpacks, do school work and sweep floors time”. Thank GOD I have the summers!

  5. Carla says:

    Preach it sister! Your words could have come directly out of my head. I often feel so defeated when at the end of the day I’ve only done the basics of feeding, toileting & clothing the kids. When I look around the house & the dishes are piled two feet high, the laundry threatens to avalanche and bury a small child, & every toy known to man is strewn around the house, I try to remind myself that someday I’ll look back on this with nostalgia while I sit in my quiet empty nest.

    Keep on keeping on!

  6. Laura says:

    Wow so glad you blogged that Nicole, cause my house is always in a state of chaos, but my mom always says to me the housework will always be there, children and spending time with them won’t, they’re so young now just enjoy cause that age is like a speck in their lifetime. they’re not really going to remember having a chaotic household, they’ll remember you spending the time with them.

I love your comments! Leave one!

