The best wedding ever.

So last month a good friend of ours got married. We’ve known him a loooong time- he was in our wedding party a hundred years ago. I’d been looking forward to this wedding for basically forever, because I really like this guy, but also because I knew it meant a night out without kids. My mom and dad actually watched all of our kids overnight so that we could have a whole 24 hours to ourselves. Oh my goodness it was such a treat! It had been over 9 months since we’d had any real time without babies/kids around, and we made the most of it!

Anyway, wow, weddings are SO much cooler than they used to be. Photographers are better, videographers are WAAAAY better. (If you want a good laugh, you simply MUST watch our VHS wedding video. Oh, you don’t have a VCR? Oh, neither do we.) There’s pinterest now, full of a million brilliant ideas. There’s just so many more ideas and ways to do weddings than there were ten years ago. Don’t get me wrong, I loved our wedding and we had a blast, but I would do basically everything different if I was getting married today.

Moving on…

So Chris and Heather got married. The wedding was, of course, beautiful. Truthfully the weather was kind of nasty that day, but the sun came out for literally the length of the ceremony, after which it promptly went back behind the clouds. Perfect.

It was such a fun day. Neil was in the wedding party so that meant that I was kind of flying solo, but Chris and Heather just really have the best and funnest friends, and Neil and I both had a great time. (Gosh it’s nice to hang out with my husband!) The speeches were fantastic, the food was delicious, and the people were amazing. We danced for hours, until the DJ refused to play anything else for us. It was so fun. Really the most fun I’ve had in a long time.

I actually slept in until 12:30 (PM!!!) the next day, which I swear hasn’t happened in approximately 6 years. It was awesome.

To Chris and Heather, you guys are great, and we love you and wish you all the best in your marriage! Chris, sorry I took a month to blog about your epic event. 🙂

5 thoughts on “The best wedding ever.

  1. MikeK says:

    Mike was in Owen’s wedding party in July so because he was away for the pictures, I spent the day without husband or kids. I knew lots of people there so it was fine…but it definitely felt weird! I ended up helping my sister take care of her kids there!

  2. Jerusha says:

    You guys are the cutest! Glad you enjoyed your 24hrs 🙂 PS — I have no idea how I initially found your blog but, dang, I love it, you and your family. Sending you guys love from Cape Town, South Africa!

I love your comments! Leave one!

