How to get your baby to sleep through the night.

Having four children, I consider myself a fairly experienced parent. I’ve read probably every sleep book/website/e-book/online forum in existence in an effort to convince any or all of my babies to sleep through the night.

After a particularly tiring stretch with Ivy last week, I tried something new. Something I had never tried before. And wouldn’t you know, it worked like a charm. After nights and nights of her waking up once or twice or three times at night, and often waking before 6 for the day, she slept right through the night without making a single peep.

IMG_7039

If you’re a tired momma like me, you’re reading this as fast as you can so that you, too, can sleep through the night maybe. You’re thinking maybe this will be the trick for your night-waking baby too.

I want you to sleep, too, and so I will share my magic sleep trick. You will need to follow these directions exactly in order for this to work.

Here’s what I did:

When I climbed into bed, weary from a long day of parenting, I said out loud to Ivy (even though she was already sleeping in her crib across the hall from me with her door shut)…

“Ivy. I will put $100 in your RESP account if you sleep until 6:45 am tomorrow.”

That’s all I did.

And wouldn’t you know, she slept right through until EXACTLY 6:45. (Obviously next time I will suggest a later time.)

So there you go. That’s all there is to it. Give it a try tonight, and maybe you’ll get the sleep you so desperately want and need.

Disclaimer: There is absolutely no guarantee that this will work for your baby, especially if your baby does not have college plans.

One thought on “How to get your baby to sleep through the night.

I love your comments! Leave one!

