Family day.

It’s a holiday day here in Manitoba. Louis Riel Day, aka family day. We’ve been planning for ages to go out to Portage, hang out with everyone, and go snow tubing.

Winter has foiled our plans as we woke up to ANOTHER winter storm. Highways are closed so we aren’t going anywhere.

So, so far our day has consisted of making crafts with Dad (I woke up to Neil making bracelets with the kids. Never in a million years would I have imagined this scenario), making poppyseed loaf (Seth and Ben successfully cracked eggs; they’re so proud), and making the boys wash the dishes (they thought this was fun for a tiny moment and then Ben thought it was really gross. My sweet little germaphobe).

DSCN1015

I don’t know what else our day will hold. Hopefully only fun things and no crabby kids. I lost my voice on Friday and I’m still waiting for it to come back (also waiting for the cold and sore throat to leave, anytime now, please). So naps might be in order. Maybe a movie. I should do some sewing, or at least some cutting out. And maybe we’ll venture down the road to visit our friends. That would be a good day, I think.

b7bed13079d911e291a022000a9f13ef_5
So happy Louis Riel day, fellow Manitobans. Hope it’s a good one.

I love your comments! Leave one!

