I am learning how to use my camera. Finally.

So three years ago I got a dSLR camera for my birthday. I had wanted one for a long time, and I was soooo excited to get one. Everyone chipped in and I got the Canon Rebel.

I quickly learned that I had no idea how to use it. I tried to read the manual. I tried to read blog posts about how to use a dSLR. I even bought an e-book about how to use it. I didn’t ever get past the first page.

I consider myself fairly smart but I just couldn’t get what was on the page into my brain. So eventually I just started using my dSLR less and less and less. The pictures I took on my point-and-shoot were pretty much just as good as the ones on my dSLR because I wasn’t using my dSLR properly. I pretty much just turned the flash off and hoped for the best. I kind of felt bad that I wasn’t using my expensive camera at all. And I kind of felt like a loser because I couldn’t figure it out. And I did really want to take GOOD pictures because I LOVE taking pictures (I take A LOT of pictures EVERY. SINGLE. DAY.)

IMG_9513

Then one day in my blog hopping I came across a little ad for Shoot Fly Shoot. I clicked on over, read a bit, and signed up in a flash. It was so much more affordable than any other classes I’d seen, online or otherwise, and I really liked the idea of it being quick little doses of learning. Some of the sessions are only ten minutes long- totally doable for a busy mom like me. I signed up for Photography 101 and Photography 102 because the two-fer deal is better than taking one at a time!

ShootFlyShoot.com

I started right away and, I swear to you, I felt like a freaking genius within about 17 minutes. The light bulb finally turned on in my brain. I started shooting in manual mode pretty much the next day and I have not taken my camera OFF of manual mode since I started those classes over a month ago. I still feel so proud of myself with every picture I take. Like seriously, I want to pat myself on the back. It’s such a great feeling!

IMG_9079

Since I took the class I pretty much never use my point-and-shoot anymore, unless it’s for shooting little videos of the kids (now I wish I had the dSLR that does video too…). I feel like my photography is way better, even though I know I have so much to learn still; I still haven’t finished the classes and I still haven’t started editing my pictures!

IMG_9252

Anyway, I’m not getting paid to say this stuff about Shoot Fly Shoot (unfortunately) but I really loved the classes SO much, and if you have a dSLR and do not know how to use it I REALLY REALLY recommend taking them! You will love yourself after you do!

IMG_9354

DO IT!

IMG_1111

2 thoughts on “I am learning how to use my camera. Finally.

  1. Helen says:

    I SO need this. Would love to do it before our trip this summer but not sure if I’ll have time. Thanks for the info!

    • Nikki says:

      Helen you have the time! I think I had already learned SO much by the end of the first three or four sessions. They’re like 10-20 minutes long; I would do one or two while Ivy was napping or after the kids went to bed. I wanted to do it before Mexico, and I’m so glad I did! I’m so happy with the pictures I took on that trip! Believe me, if I have time, you have time!

I love your comments! Leave one!

