Cousin time.

My sister and her three girls came for a sleepover on Tuesday. My childless sister came along too. We started the party off right with some sidewalk paint and bubbles. Making sidewalk paint is one of my favorite things to do in the summer. The kids had fun too, although more paint ended up on small bodies than ended up on the sidewalk.

IMG_3171 IMG_3183 IMG_3156IMG_3143

The 5 and 7 year olds had a sleepover in the boys’ room. They goofed off in there until around 10 pm. They were, of course, still up at 6:30 am.

IMG_2945

We were planning to go to the beach yesterday, but apparently it’s already fall here in Manitoba, so we bailed on that idea and decided to hit up the Lower Fort Garry for some educational fun. Rachel was a good sport about being dragged on a historical tour with her sisters and their seven kids.

IMG_3192

IMG_3201

IMG_3189

IMG_3232

IMG_3259

IMG_3223

IMG_3219

IMG_3288

IMG_3305

Ciara took such good care of Ivy, and Ivy just LOVED having a big girl to dote after her. She let Ciara change her diapers, get her dressed, and carry her around like a baby. At one point Ivy whapped her head and started crying. She looked right at me, then headed for Ciara and put her arms up for her cousin. Pretty darn sweet, I tell ya.

IMG_2995

After the good times at Lower Fort Garry, we stopped at Half Moon for some french fries. I ordered two large fries, just so we could have a little snack. Well I have never seen french fries be eaten that quickly. It’s like all ten of us just descended on the tray of fries. I’m pretty sure they were all gone in about two and a half minutes.

IMG_3022

We came home and had sandwiches, then baths, and then the cousins and aunties headed home. I have to say, although having seven children seven and under is not the easiest of times, I think this was one of our smoothest get-togethers. The kids all got along really well and had a lot of fun together. I’m so glad my kids have cousins that they’re close to.

IMG_2943

ps. Funny story: So we’re at Lower Fort Garry and of course everyone’s so thirsty. We head into the museum area, where there’s a water tower but NO CUPS. I saw some kid there actually just put his hand under the tap and scoop the water to his mouth. But no cups is no problem for me, because I had TWO CUPS IN MY PURSE. Yes, I did. Two kids cups. In my purse. True story. Lately instead of bringing four water bottles everywhere with me, I just bring one with me, and a couple cups. It totally lightens my load, and it totally works. And it saved us with our thirsty littles. I’m still feeling awesome about this two days later…

IMG_3314

3 thoughts on “Cousin time.

  1. Carla says:

    Smart lady with the cups! I’m definitely doing that!

    Looks like a great time with the cousins! We just had 2 weeks with my sisters kids! So much fun! Cousin love!

  2. mamamaa says:

    Looks like such a fun time! Great fun and great pics! I am sooooo happy you guys like to spend time together in spite of the work it sometimes is!

I love your comments! Leave one!

