Kindergarten for Ben.

I’ve got one more kid in school today. It is Ben’s first day of kindergarten!

IMG_4842

It’s been a lot harder for me to think about sending this little sweetie off to school. He’s our gentle peacemaker and I know the babies and I will miss having him around. He’s grown so much in the last year and has so much more confidence than he used to, and I know he’ll do just fine at school. Still, it’s hard!

Not surprisingly, he didn’t want to go this morning. He HAS been excited about school, mostly, off and on, in the last few weeks, but I knew when it came down to it, he wasn’t going to be too pumped to leave us for the day.

But he did so great, walking across the street like he’s done it a hundred times, and getting on the bus like it’s nothing new. Of course, everything is easier if you’ve got your big brother with you, but still, I’m so proud of him.

IMG_4844

 

I, of course, got all choked up, seeing my baby on that big school bus. If our neighbor hadn’t been walking his kid to the bus, too, I’m sure I would have had some tears fall. It’s hard to put a kindergartener on the bus for the first time!

He was so cute sitting up in the front seat with his brother, just barely big enough to peek up out the window and wave at me.

IMG_4843

 

And so here we go onto a new phase in life. I’m not gonna lie, I am SUPER excited about having just TWO kids at home with me a couple days a week! And running errands with just two kids- oh it just sounds dreamy don’t you think?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Kindergarten for Ben.

  1. grammy says:

    It made me tear up reading your post- grammy will miss him too. But, he really has grown up so much this last year, so much more confidence in so many ways! Hope you had a great day Ben, can’t wait to hear about it!

  2. Deanna McCowan says:

    ok it might be the post-in-law-visit-stress but I TOTALLY got teary reading this! Ben is such a super sweetie I can imagine it was tough for him. and seriously did you have to post that pic of his wee little hand. Gah. That’s what got me. Glad you still have 2 other littles at home. I love your little egg timer. What an angel.

I love your comments! Leave one!

