Ivy and babies.

Ivy’s been loving on her baby doll for a few months now. She carries it around, rocks it, sings to it, kisses it, pats it on the back, pushes it around in a stroller, and tucks it into bed. She loves her baby. But the other day she got to hold her first real live baby. Neil’s cousin Dana had her first baby, Jaxon, and we went to his baby shower. He was only four days old and Ivy couldn’t get enough of him. Neil’s grandma was holding Jaxon and leaned over to show Ivy, who basically snatched him from her arms and then REFUSED to give him back.

She was sitting on my lap holding Jaxon and she had a death grip on him. Not in a bad way, but she was just holding him so close and so tight, and as soon as anyone reached over to take him from her she said “NO!” and tightened her grip. She bounced him gently on her lap (for real!) and stroked his head, and kissed him from time to time. She was seriously in love with that baby.

IMG_6082

The time did come when she had to give him back to his mama and oh she cried and carried on for a long time. It was pretty much the cutest thing of my life, I’m not gonna lie. It seriously made me want to have another baby, just for Ivy. And when I say just for Ivy, I mean if I did have another baby, I probably wouldn’t even get a chance to hold it anyway, since Ivy likely wouldn’t share with me. It’s a moot point anyway, since there will not be anymore babies in this family of mine. There better not be, anyway.

3 thoughts on “Ivy and babies.

  1. Deanna McCowan says:

    Every time I hear an Ivy story I think “OK, that’s DEFINITELY the cutest thing ever.”

    And then you go and post something EVEN CUTER. I love that she’s sooo loving!!

I love your comments! Leave one!

