“The Gingerbreadman and Santa”

Seth came home from school the other day with his first self-published short story. I really loved it. Seth does not enjoy writing, not yet, anyway. Every week he comes home with a little journal of what he did at school that week. He did this in grade one too, and I have to sign it or write a little note back to his note, that sort of thing. I swear, he’s written the exact same thing every single entry. For two years. I’m so bored of reading it and signing it, because it’s SO boring. He complains about it too, and just can’t seem to think how to expand his thoughts farther than “I had math. We went to computer class. We had assembly.” Etc. Etc.
Anyway, I was so pleased to read his short story, with detail and expression and humor everything else a good short story (written by a seven year old) should have.

So here’s his story, just as he wrote it:

“The Gingerbreadman and Santa”

IMG_7700

Santa was at an igloo about to eat a gingerbreadman when all of a sudden the gingerbreadman spoke and he said “Santa don’t eat me.” When the gingerbreadman spoke, Santa fainted. Santa woke up a minute later and remembered that he had to deliver the presents. Then the gingerbreadman spoke again and said “Can I come with you.” Then Santa said “Yes you can come with me.” Then the gingerbreadman quickly hoped out of the igloo and climbed the sides of the igloo and then hopped into Santa’s sleigh. Then they flew to a nearby barn. The gingerbreadman jumped out of Santas sleigh and saw a snowman. The gingerbreadman crept a little closer then the snowman said “Hi my name is Frosty the snowman what is yours?” When Frosty the snowman said that the gingerbreadman ran around the barn twenty-seven times. Then he stoped and thought for a minute. He looked to the side and he saw Frosty the snowman and at that very second he fainted. Then half a minute later he woke up because he felt some snow fall over him. He looked up and saw Santa’s sleigh fly above him to the house across the street. So the gingerbreadman got up and walked across the street. But he did not know that Frosty the snowman was following him. The gingerbreadman thought that something was following him but he thought that it was just a deer, moose, or bunny.

IMG_7701

So he looked back to see Frosty the snowman. When he saw Frosty the snowman he was scared so much he ran to the house and climbed up the house and jumped into Santa’s sleigh. He got in just in time to see Santa pop out of the chimney. Then the gingerbreadman fell asleep. Then he woke up and hour later and said “Santa can I live with you.” Santa said “Yes you can.” So the gingerbreadman and Santa got out at the North Pole in front of the house. Santa went in the house and started making a little bed. So the gingerbreadman wen it. Santa and a bunch of elves yelled “Merry Christmas”. The End.

I realize that probably you’re not as amused by this story as I am, being that I am the author’s mother, but I just wanted to share it. I know I don’t write much about what the older kids are up to, and it’s probably because they’re busy doing their own things most of the time, and they need so much less of me than the babies do. Seth’s at school full time and when he’s home he’s often in his room playing lego or sitting on the couch reading. He barely needs me anymore, which is weird, because he’s only seven. The other morning we found him in bed with a balled up kleenex in his nose. He had a nose bleed in the night and took care of it all by himself. (He told me this was because Neil told him never to wake us up, to which I replied of course he can wake us up if he has a problem he needs help with, but I’m also wondering why Neil hasn’t given this firm instruction to the other kids…) But even though he’s so independent, he still knows that I at least need to feel needed by him, and so every once and awhile he spontaneously finds me just to give me a hug. He likes to climb in for a cuddle in the mornings too, and I really do love his quick little hugs and kisses. He continues to be such a sweet big brother, especially to Ivy. Lately he doesn’t want to do much without her, and it seriously melts my heart. Their relationship reminds me a lot of me and my baby brother a million years ago. I love having kids close in age, but there’s something so special about that almost six year age gap too. I’m very proud of the boy Seth is, and every day he makes me prouder. Even if I’m also a little sad at how big he’s getting. Do you know he’s read over 500 chapters or short books since the middle of September?? Only a few other kids are at 300, and no one else has made it to 400. Needless to say, I’m a proud mama. Also, his brain. I was talking about how many muffins I made the other day, 5 dozen, and Seth was just wandering by, then paused for a minute, then said, “So, 60?” HOW DID HE DO THAT? I don’t even know my 12 times tables, and I know they haven’t started learning multiplication in school yet. So, his brain. It’s amazing. I love his brain. And his sweet heart.

IMG_7540

I love your comments! Leave one!

