Bad-luck Neil.

20140505-201530.jpg

So you know Neil has crohns and he’s been on medication now since October or something. He’s been feeling much better than he was but definitely hasn’t been feeling great yet. Still lots of sick days, just not as intense as before, thankfully.

Anyway this morning I woke up to the telltale signs of Neil tossing and turning in pain. Oh great, here we go. I told him to go to the hospital but he said that he had to get some quotes out at work so he eventually dragged himself to work. Why, man?

He texted me a couple hours later saying he was going to the hospital. A co-worker drove him there when his boss threatened to call an ambulance.

I made my way over there to be with him. Thankfully I already had a babysitter today. Unfortunately it was because IT’S MY BIRTHDAY not because I was planning to spend the afternoon in the emergency department. Oh well what can you do. Thankfully we did presents and cake yesterday so I’m not feeling ripped off or anything.

Anyway Neil eventually got admitted and they started the usual routine of IV fluids, steroids, and narcotics. They ordered an x-ray and ct scan. Once Neil was happily morphined up I went home to relieve the babysitter (who had made me cupcakes! Aw!) and wait for the next sitter- grandma.

A couple hours later Neil informed me that he has a volvulus, which is a twisted loop of bowel, and would be transferred to another hospital (the farthest possible one from our home) for SURGERY.

What the what? By the way, guess what, a volvulus IS NOT RELATED TO CROHNS.

Neil’s just that kind of lucky I guess.

So now we’re at the other hospital, where Neil’s been seen by a surgeon and will be going for surgery in the next few minutes. (I’m just blogging here while they hook up his IV and do those pre-op things, no big deal.)

If all they have to do is untwist his intestine, it’ll be a quick surgery, but there’s a chance that parts of his intestines have DIED from being cut-off from the blood supply, and in that case they have to remove the dead parts and reattach it. That will take longer. The surgeon said either way Neil will be here anywhere from 3-10 days depending on how long it takes his guts to pull their act together after surgery.

The worst part of all of this is that Neil’s roommate keeps farting. Like it’s seriously horrible.

Anyway please keep Neil in your thoughts and prayers and I’ll keep you posted too.

5 thoughts on “Bad-luck Neil.

  1. Deanna McCowan says:

    wow. that’s terrrible luck. Poor all you guys. Sending you healthy thoughts. Also I just want to give you props for keeping a positive outlook, as always, and finding the humour in things. Like the farting roomie. Hysterical. Hope he feels good soon. xoxoxo

  2. Bonnie McKenzie says:

    Nicole, sorry to hear about Neil’s trials and tribulations. You always have such a positive outlook on things no matter what. Keeping you and your family in my thoughts and sending wishes to Neil for a speedy recovery. Happy birthday? πŸ™‚

  3. Marilyn Berezowski says:

    I am so sorry to hear about Neil, my Thoughts and Prayers are with you both during this trying time! Please try and take care of each other at this time, God has is taking good care of both of you! Sorry about your sad birthday Nikki, but Happy Birthday My Dear!!! I will constantly be thinking and praying for you both, if you have time to update me, or your Mom can!

    Take Care Both of You! Your in Good Hands Neil!

    Love,

    Marilyn Berezowski

I love your comments! Leave one!

