So that didn’t really go as planned.

Before Neil’s surgery last night he asked the surgeon if, if his intestines looked all damaged from crohns, would he just cut it out while he was in there. The surgeon said, no, he wouldn’t do that because it’s really a last resort, plus he wouldn’t really be able to see INSIDE Neil’s intestines to get a good idea of the damage. Fair enough.

So Neil didn’t get out of surgery until after one in the morning. The nurse came and woke me up from sleeping in the tv room and told me the surgeon wanted to talk to me. By midnight when I hadn’t heard anything about Neil I was starting to think things probably didn’t go as planned, but when I heard the surgeon wanted to talk to me I knew for sure something was up.

It was 1:30 in the morning and my eyes were all crispy from sleeping in my contacts, but here’s what I gathered from my chat with the surgeon:

Neil’s intestines were a big mess. Parts of his large intestine were so damaged they would never heal. There was a loop of bowel extending from the large bowel that just shouldn’t even have been there, maybe a fistula he thought. Parts of his small intestine were so dilated and distended they were larger than his large intestine. Other parts of his small intestine were much much narrower than they should be.

He ended up clipping off the loop of bowel that shouldn’t have been there. Cutting out about 8 cm of large intestine and 15 cm of small. Sewing them back together. Cutting and opening up the very narrowed parts of his small intestine. And I can’t remember what else. We didn’t even discuss the twisted part of bowel that ended him up here in the first place. I’m anxious to get my hands on Neil’s charts and have a good read to sort out the real details. If that’s allowed, even.

The surgeon said Neil’s intestines will need a really good rest and chance to heal. Neil has a tube down his nose to his stomach that is constantly suctioning out any stomach contents. He won’t be be able to eat or drink anything at all for I don’t know how long. Hopefully not too long. The surgeon told me Neil could be in the hospital for a good couple of weeks.

So that sucks.

I just got here to the hospital and Neil is pretty out of it which at least means he’s comfortable I guess. He has an epidural running and I’m not sure what else. Some weird inflatable socks on his legs. I haven’t talked to any of his care providers to get an update or see what the plan is here.

The kids were sad this morning when I talked to them about it. Seth teared up. I’m sad that Neil will miss Oliver’s birthday this week. I’m worried about being there enough for my kids and being there enough for Neil.

Lots and lots of you have sent well wishes and said you’re praying and asked how you can help. I’m so thankful for all of you, and I feel very loved and a little overwhelmed at how many people care about us. I know I’ll need help with my kids sometimes but I don’t know how or what yet really. Right now the grandmas have come to the rescue. One thing I can think of, one way you could help if you want, is if you have anything laying around that could keep Neil from being too bored here. Magazines or tv series on DVD, iPhone game recommendations? I don’t know what else, but if you can think of anything or have any good ideas, please let me know.

Neil will not want any visitors right now but I will let you know if or when he is up to it.

Thanks again for all your prayers and kind words.

8 thoughts on “So that didn’t really go as planned.

  1. Helen says:

    Oh Nikki. That’s a lot of stress for you. Praying for Neil but also for strength for you and the kids. Hopefully the drastic surgery will lead to less pain for Neil once everything heals up.

  2. Leslie Klassen says:

    Thank God for grandma’s that are close by and young enough to fill in the gap where needed!! We serve a very big God who will be loving on your family in extra special ways…watch for them. A recommendation I have is if there is wifi in the hospital, there are many great motivational messages online, from “Portage Alliance Church” or “The Village Church” in Surrey, BC etc…great messages to remind us of God’s truth when things just don’t make sense. If not wifi, then maybe people have video series they could borrow you, like “Joyce Meyers” etc. Don’t lose hope!! Let God speak to you and minister to your spirits in a powerful way that only HE can do!!

  3. Brenda Liebrecht says:

    Dear Neil and Nikki, I am sorry to here of Neil’s sickness. I pray he gets better soon! Please let me know if you need anything. You are so blessed with those 4 beautiful kids. They will cherish you and be your guys friends forever, wow what a perfect family! Xoxoxoxoxoxo

  4. Avrell Hofman says:

    I just saw this link listed on Facebook. I will be praying for you. My heart goes out to your family.

  5. Steph says:

    Oh Nikki! This is hard to read and my heart goes out to you both. For Neil to have to endure the pain and recovery and for you to have to juggle so much. Thankfully we have a God who knows perfectly well what we need even when we don’t. Praying for you both during this time of tough. I hope there’ll be many hands to help you out. Having a sick husband is no fun (my husband has had many many stomach/intestine issues too so I can def empathize with you). Hang in there!! Xoxoxo

I love your comments! Leave one!

