Neil and Nikki // 12 years.

We’ve been married for 12 years today. It’s hard to believe, 12 years.

12 years and I love him more than ever. Not that I needed reminding, but when he was so sick, right after his surgery, I WAS reminded of just how much I do love him. I felt reassured, kind of, by how big my love for him was. Like when you say your vows, you don’t really think much of the sickness or in health part, because that’s not going to happen to you. But when it does, and you make it through it, you know you’re good to go. You’re solid. It was so raw for me right then, almost overpowering. He was mine and he was sick and I needed to be with him and I needed to take care of him. Even though it was a hard time, it was good to feel so strongly that need to just love and provide care for my husband. We’ve had a couple months of spending more time together than in years and years, and it’s been nice. I thought he might drive me crazy here at home. I thought he might get in my way, or throw off my routine, or just make more messes for me to clean up. And he did, kind of, but I really didn’t mind. I like being around him. I like spending time with him. I don’t want him to go back to work. I just want to be with him. And I know he feels the same way about spending time with me.

I’m overwhelmingly blessed by my husband and our marriage and by the love we have for each other. Happy anniversary to us!

20140628-131450-47690467.jpg

I love your comments! Leave one!

