Oliver :: Five

Oliver turned five on the 8th. He was so excited, and woke up an hour earlier than usual. He climbed into bed with me and said “I’m a little nervous about being five.” But we had a great day planned, where he was the birthday boss, and we would do whatever he wanted, so there was no reason to be nervous about getting older.

I had been collecting gifts for Oliver for months, starting when Target started closing down and clearing out their toys. When it came time wrap gifts, I realized we had A LOT of stuff for Oliver, but what the heck, you only turn five once. Part of me is definitely trying to make up for his super junky birthday last year. I still feel the major mom guilt over that one, even if Oliver has never ever complained about it.

Neil drew up the chalkboard and we hung up balloons and a banner. I woke up early to make breakfast pancakes. You can tell right there how deep the mom guilt runs, because no one in this family gets pancakes on a weekday. (Even though they’re really not that hard, I don’t know why.)

We stacked up the sprinkle pancakes and covered them with glaze and more sprinkles, and stuck all those candles in them. Oliver was happy while we sang happy birthday. Then, as in all birthday candle events, it was time to blow the candles out. Oliver could NOT figure this out. Seriously, he must have attempted to blow them out like 15 times, then finally gave up and called in the reinforcements. So that explains why he failed swimming lessons too. The kid can literally not blow bubbles in the water. Hey, it’s super challenging right? We’ll cut him some slack, and try to figure out how to teach him to forcefully exhale through pursed lips before his next round of lessons.

IMG_0802 IMG_0813

He opened some presents, which were quickly hijacked by all of his siblings, but especially Ivy. Story of Oliver’s life, really.

After the boys went to school we went to the children’s museum, where I spent two hours continuously losing one child and then another. That is one place where my kids have absolutely no concern or regard for my whereabouts. And of course, they don’t actually want to be in the same places in there either. One wants to be in the train, the other one wants to be in the water area. Then switch. Anyway, Oliver had fun, and that’s all that mattered yesterday. I even sat in the play structure for ages, because its slightly too big for him, so he could get up and around in there.

After the museum, Oliver had planned for us to go to Pineridge Hollow for a cinnamon bun; a choice I was personally thrilled with. But on the way there, he changed his mind (noooo!) so I grabbed him a sprinkle donut at Tim Hortons instead, and we went home to make soft-boiled eggs, his current favorite lunch. (Mine too!)

In the afternoon he picked his favorite movie to watch, Despicable Me 2, then, when the boys got home from school, we went to McDonald’s for supper. My sister and a couple of her girls met us there, and so did our friends the Downies with their. I give kudos to those wonderful grown-ups who gave up two hours of their time to hang out with Oliver in a McDonald’s play place with 25 screaming children. Oliver had a great time and was so excited to get a whole bunch of Trashies for his birthday, and a new whale stuffie too. He named it Blue and couldn’t wait to introduce it to the stuffed giraffe he got for his birthday last year.

After McDonalds we came home and Oliver opened his last few birthday presents. He now owns basically every Jake and the Neverland Pirates toy in existence, and over 30 Trashies and a few garbage trucks. I don’t know who invented tiny squishy toys shaped like pieces of garbage with funny faces, but whoever did clearly understood the mind of a five year old boy. Anyway, I think Oliver’s birthday was a huge success. He was very happy.

I asked him a few questions, just to help me remember what he’s like at this age.

What is your name?

Oliver

How old are you?

Five.

IMG_0221

What’s the hardest part about being a kid?

That you got to wait in the car so much and some kids aren’t good at waiting. Clearly I leave my kids waiting in the car too often. Don’t call CFS.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

A artist.

If you had a million dollars, what would you buy?

I would buy a Jake Lego set that has 102 pieces.

If you could change one rule our family has, what would it be?

I would change the one where everyone interrupts me. #thirdchildproblems

IMG_0213

Do you have any pets?

I do a giraffe-y and my gigis. I guess the real pet doesn’t count?

What do you think they would say if they could talk?

I love you Oliver.

What’s your favorite holiday?

Easter.

Why?

Because you get to get candy. If somebody stays up they might be able to hide and quickly take a picture of the Easter bunny and go back to bed.

What’s your favorite hair color?

Black. Because it’s so dark and I like dark things. Um..Trying not to let this worry me.

What is your favorite food?

Pizza

What is your favorite animal?

A giraffe.

Who do you want to marry?

I wish I could marry you.

IMG_0224

Who is your best friend?

Gage.

What is your favorite book?

The boy and the penguin. Also known as Lost and Found by Oliver Jeffers. A real good one; I highly recommend!

What is your favorite place in the whole world?

The dino museum. Remember that one, at Dad’s birthday?

What do mom and dad do after you go to bed?

Pray to me.

What does your mom do?

Takes care of babies.

What does your dad do?

Builds stuff. Is that true?

Oh Oliver, I love your five year old self so much. You are compassionate and kind, quick to forgive, and generous with your love. You’re truly a gift to our family. Happy birthday bud.

IMG_0209

4 thoughts on “Oliver :: Five

I love your comments! Leave one!

