The Calgary Zoo and Canmore.

I just realized spring break was like two and a half months ago and I never finished writing about our trip.

After Drumheller, we drove to Calgary. In the morning we headed to the Calgary Zoo. The first stop at the zoo was the penguins. I don’t know why, but I love penguins so much. I’ve watched that movie, The March of the Penguins, many many times, and I always love it. They’re so dang cute! At the Calgary Zoo they have an exhibit with all kinds of penguins, in and out of the water. I loved it so much I was literally almost in tears. I could have spent the whole day in there. Ivy, however, did not appreciate the smell of penguin poo apparently. She was ready to be outta there as soon as we arrived, but we managed to keep her in for awhile, despite her protests about how stinky it was.

IMG_8138

There was this little group of like seven or eight penguins that would just one after another, dive in the water, swim across the pool, pop out, waddle back to their diving spot, and repeat over and over again. Seriously the best.

The zoo was a lot of fun, but it was also a lot of walking, and we were all still a little tired from driving and Drumheller. I was actually so tired I thought I might die. But I stayed alive for the kids. The zoo had just got some new animatronic dinosaurs, and the boys really liked those. Ivy and I liked the gorillas. They were having a lot of fun wrestling with each other, and napping.IMG_8147

I was most excited to show Oliver the giraffes. He has always loved giraffes and says that they are his favorite animal. Of course, Oliver was super chill about it- we were far more excited than he was.

IMG_8142

We were looking forward to seeing the rhino, but apparently he just needed some alone time. We did get a good view of his “man parts’, shall we say, and, well, wow. That was big. Not exactly what I had planned to see on my trip to the zoo, though.

We were done at the zoo pretty early in the afternoon, mostly due to tiredness, and eagerness to get to Canmore. We got to Canmore by about four in the afternoon, checked in and unpacked, had a little swim, and went for supper at The Grizzly Paw Brewing Company. I had the best salad of my life. Seriously, that supper was so good!

IMG_6205

We spent the next day just exploring and walking around Canmore, as well as trying to figure out how we could possibly relocate there, because it is freaking amazing. Just going through these pictures for this post, I miss it so much and can’t wait to go back! IMG_0358IMG_8171 IMG_8165 IMG_6394

We met some friends from church who live in Canmore part of the year for lunch. They ended up taking our big kids back home with them while we took Ivy and Oliver (and let’s be honest, me) back to the hotel for a nap. We went back to their place for supper that night. The kids had a great time jumping on the trampoline overlooking a valley with mountains in the background, and we enjoyed some excellent company, while hitting them up for all the recommendations of where to eat and play nearby.

IMG_8180

By the end of our first day in Canmore we already knew we’d definitely be doing this trip again.  We were in love! We went to sleep anticipating our first day of snowboarding in the mountains.

IMG_8184

I love your comments! Leave one!

