A hummingbird dress.

I got a new load of Cotton and Steel fabrics in over at Seam Allowance, and I just had to sew a dress for Ivy. She loved the lilac XOXO, and I was suuuuuper happy when she picked some pink apples to go with it. Apparently she has a good eye for fabric combos already.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

This was the third hummingbird dress I’ve made, but it was the first time I added ruffles to the straps. I’m not personally a ruffly kind of girl, but yeesh do I ever LOVE them on this dress.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

When I pulled the dress off of my machine and put Ivy into it, she quickly ran to check herself out in the full length mirror. After seeing herself, she whipped back around and ran full force into my arms yelling “THANK YOU MAMA!’

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

I call it a huge success.

If you’re looking to sew a dress, I really recommend this pattern. It sews up fairly quickly and with such great results. The pattern comes in size 1-12 and with a few different options to plain it down or fancy it up, so you can get a tonne of use out of it. One of my current favorites for sure!

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

3 thoughts on “A hummingbird dress.

  1. Maureen says:

    Have to agree with Bonnie! Ivy is a Supermodel and that dress is beyond adorable! LOVE the ruffles! Wish one could wear tutus and ruffles in one’s 40s.

I love your comments! Leave one!

