Thursday mornings with Oliver.

Because of Oliver’s kindergarten schedule, a couple times a month it works out that Ivy is in preschool and Oliver is at home. The very first time it happened, we planned a date. Now Oliver has decided we would always have a date when Ivy is in school, and so we have. As soon as I get back in the van after dropping her off, Oliver says, “And now we’re on our date!”

We usually just go to Tim Horton’s for a donut and an apple juice, but sometimes he asks to go get a giant cinnamon bun at Pineridge Hollow, and I never say no to that! He says Tim Horton’s is our regular date, and he does look like a little regular when we go now. He opens the doors for me, inspects and chooses a donut, and then proceeds to sit down in one of our two regular places, either by the fireplace or in a booth. The fireplace is our favorite spot, obviously.

Then we come home and hang out together. It’s really nice getting to spend some one-on-one time with a middle kid, who’s barely ever had a parent to himself since birth.

IMG_3041

It makes me wish I could do more dates with Seth and Ben, but that feels almost impossible.

Today we came home for a little cuddle and some selfies, because Oliver’s cute face and messy hair needed to be documented. But why am I getting so old looking? #concerning

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Oliver tripped over Seth and landed on his chin on the hardwoods last night. He was crying super hard and I was all, “get over it”, until we noticed the bruise.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Sometimes I’m not the best at parenting.

But he survived, and it’s all good. When Ivy is done preschool we’re going to head to Ikea for lunch with a friend, where we also take advantage of the free childcare.

My back is super sore, probably from hunching over a sewing machine making the Christmas jammies, but I must carry on. I have to take advantage of the one-kid quietness that is going on, and churn out at least another pajama top. Bathrooms are starting to frighten me and need to be cleaned in a bad way. My mother-in-law will be here this afternoon, so this is a chore that is not optional today.

But before I get to it, another kiss and hug for my little boyfriend. I love you Oliver, seriously.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

One thought on “Thursday mornings with Oliver.

  1. Susan H. says:

    I find it so peaceful when there is just one at home with me, there’s no fighting!
    And nothing motivates me to clean more than when I know my MIL is coming over, lol.

I love your comments! Leave one!

