Hello 2016.

Since I’ve turned into the world’s slackest blogger, I obviously have so so SO much to catch up on. I don’t even know when I blogged last. *hangs head in shame*.

It’s a new year now, though, and one of my goals is to blog more. I don’t really know how or why I got so sucky at blogging. You’d think now that I have three kids in school and only one at home a lot of days that I’d have loads of time, but it seems like there’s never enough time. Never enough hours in the day to get done what I need to do, never mind what I want to do. But things happen, and kids grow up so fast, and this blog is one of the ways I remember those things that happen, and those kids that used to be little. It’s important to me, and so I need to make time for it.

We’re finishing up our last leg of holidays here. Just today and tomorrow and then it’s back to school and back to work. It’s been a busy couple weeks, and now we’re all lazy and tired, and all of the boys are sick with pretty bad coughs. We’re all just hanging around on couches reading, and sitting at tables doing play-doh and puzzles, and fantasizing about naps. Ok I’m sure I’m the only one dreaming of naps, but everyone else sure looks like they could use one. I’m also thinking about eating some vegetables, because those have been in super short supply over the last couple weeks. More vegetables, less cookies, coming right up.

I asked the kids what they would like 2016 to bring. They suggested more vacations (yes) and more dance parties (that was Oliver’s). I’m on board with both of these things, but especially the vacations.

I’m also vowing to get off my phone more, like always. Sometimes I do okay at this, but lots of times I don’t. I heard something on the radio the other day about how kids today don’t know how to be solitary, or quiet, or just “be” because they never see us do it anymore. In the “old days” when your toddler was in the bath, you’d sit in there and let them play while you just were just there, being. Thinking, reading, being, quietly. Now that toddler would see you on your phone, likely, unable to sit for even a minute without something to keep you occupied. They have no one to show them how to “do nothing”, because they never see anyone do it. I’m not cool with that. We’re always annoyed when kids whine that they’re bored, and we wonder why they can’t find something to do, but as adults, aren’t we so easily bored, too? And we turn immediately to our phones or the tv. It’s a weird time we’re living in it. I love phones and I love tvs and I love google, but it’s weird figuring it all out, and trying to find a balance.

I hope 2016 will also bring more meal planning. Making supper is my worst when I don’t have a plan, and that’s like 99% of the time. I don’t know why I don’t just pull up my socks and organize myself a little better. It would make me a lot happier.

And I think that’s about all the goals I’ll set for now. Blog, less phone, and meal plan. I’m the queen of not following through, and if I set too many goals to fail at, I’ll just feel like a loser.

2015 was a pretty good year. Neil was healthy all year. That was amazing. I quit biting my nails, after probably 30 years of biting them. I think I actually quit for real, too. Although it’s just fingernails, this is so huge for me. Fighting that habit for the last forever made me feel so lame so many times. I feel pretty darn awesome when I look at my nice nails now. I had my first full year in business with Seam Allowance, and I had 449 sales that included around 1600 cuts of fabric, sending fabric coast to coast and even all the way down to California. I’m excited about what 2015 will bring for my little shop. Of course there were like a million other good things about 2015, too. It was a good one, but I’m feeling really pumped for 2016. I like me some fresh starts.

So anyway, right now, the dream of that nap is strong, and I think I’m going to go for it. Start 2016 off right, you know?

Happy new year, friends.

 

One thought on “Hello 2016.

  1. Laura says:

    I feel the same way! I love your blog and can’t wait to hear more from you! My instagram sometimes feels a little like my blog, but I have often thought of starting one, as it is such a great way to remember/remind us of things. Happy New Year to you!! All the best in 2016 and I know it will be a great year!! I love a good fresh start too 🙂

I love your comments! Leave one!

