Snow day.

It has been such an amazing winter so far. Yes, it’s early days still, but it’s been great. The weather has been so mild- I don’t think we’ve had hardly a day below zero so far. It’s snowed a few times in the last week and each time the snow has been perfect for snowman making.

Yesterday we had Oliver and Ivy’s Christmas concert at church in the morning. One of my favorite Sundays of the year, obviously. Ivy is pretty enthusiastic about it. Oliver participates as minimally as possible, but that’s okay.

I snapped a picture of the two of them together after the dress rehearsal last week.

img_0054

Too precious. Oliver is clearly trying to keep his body as far away from Ivy as possible while still obliging my request for a picture.

Anyway after church yesterday we stopped in at Costco for passport pictures and some “lunch”. I thought it was relatively painless for weekend shopping but by the time we left 20 minutes later Neil looked like he was on the verge of a nervous breakdown.

Next up on my list was photos with Santa. We were going to go to either Fort Whyte or Shelmerdine’s. Unfortunately I left Oliver’s boots at church, and Neil didn’t even wear boots, and it was snowing/raining heavily enough that a couple hours in the woods wasn’t going to be smart. So we went to Shelmerdines. As soon as we walked in I knew Neil was gonna lose it. There were so many people. And so many people’s dogs. And the dogs were barking. Neil started getting twitchy almost immediately. When they told us it was an hour and 45 minute wait, we were out of there. We’ll try again first thing Saturday morning and leave Neil at home.

Anyway home we went, where we bundled up and went outside to play in the snow. I even went out! I don’t usually go outside to play in the winter but I wanted to help the kids make some snowmen and  a fort, and the weather was so mild that I figured why not. I had a lot of fun with the kids and we were very successful in our snowman building.

img_0346

I had a little snowman paint kit that had been sitting in the house for two solid years that I did pull out yesterday. That’s why some of the snowmen look like something out of a horror movie. Oh well, kids had fun. Ben’s basically a brand rep for Vans these days…

We made a pretty good sized fort too. It could have been bigger but Oliver and I seemed to be the only ones working on building the walls while Seth just carved all the big snowballs into toilets. I eventually had to call a ban on snow toilets.

img_0340

Our whole front yard is covered in random colors from that snow paint stuff.

We stayed outside for a good hour or so, came inside for some hot chocolate and video games, and then went back out and built an even bigger fort in the back yard. It’s pretty awesome, and I’m hoping it lasts most of the winter now.

img_0341

It was a super fun snow day. After playing in the snow again, we came back in, made some delicious fajitas for supper, I sewed a little bit, and then we watched Survivor together.  It was one of the best Sundays I’ve had in awhile. There’s some big snow and wind coming this way in the next day or two, and I’m okay with that, as long as roads are okay enough for me to get into the city and go shopping tomorrow….Only four more months of winter, may as well make the most of it. 😉

2 thoughts on “Snow day.

I love your comments! Leave one!

