Ivy :: 5

Ivy is five today! Holy smokes you guys- the last five years went so crazy fast. I just can’t believe my last little baby is a full-on kid now. Not gonna lie, lots of feels about that. She’s a really great kid though, so I’ll be ok.

Oh Ivy, I just love you so freaking much!

img_4053

You are such a fun kid, always up for any adventure. You’ll tackle any hike, try any new sport, and throw yourself right in on a royal rumble with your big brothers. If it looks fun, you’re up for trying it.

You love animals. Pretty much all animals, although soft and cuddly is your favorite. Cats are your life. I think if we got you a cat all of your dreams would come true and your life would be complete. But even though you love soft and cuddly, you also love catching frogs and snakes, and you love playing with our bearded dragon. You give him baths and take him for walks in your doll stroller sometime. Right now you want to be a vet when you grow up, and I think it could be a good fit for you!

You love playing. You play all day long with your Lego, your Shopkins, your dollhouse, whatever. You like hauling all the millions of small things you own out into the middle of the floor by the kitchen and playing there. That way you’re not alone. You keep yourself busy and you love being at home with your stuff. Yesterday morning you asked me, “Mom, are we staying home alllll day today?” And when I answered yes you said, “Oh good! I just love being at home with you.” I love being at home with you too babe! We have such nice days together. And even when we do have to go run errands, you’re always a good sport, always patient and helpful, even when we’d both rather be at home.

You’re such a good sister and daughter. You get along really well with all of your brothers, even Oliver, FINALLY! You play with them all the time, whatever they’re playing. You have no problem watching Star Wars or superhero movies, or wrestling, biking over jumps, imagining you’re a bad guy, whatever. You get right in there and play with anyone. You hardly ever get to play anything “girly”- so you love it when your cousins come over. You love those girls so much!

img_6486img_3174

You’re polite and kind but also so crazy and weird sometimes. I love that about you. You tell fart jokes as well as any of your brothers but you still love dressing up all fancy once and awhile. You’ll accessorize to the nines or hang around in your brother’s old sweatpants. You love lip syncing. I haven’t heard you sing in years since you discovered lip syncing. Even if I’m singing in the van you ask me to “just move your mouth but don’t let any sound out, Mom.” You love music and you know what your favorite songs are. You’re pretty much the boss of the radio in the van.

img_1462

DCIM100GOPRO

img_9237

Even though you’re mostly a really sweet girl, you are also very strong willed and have no problem saying NO to me and Dad if we ask you to do something. If you don’t want to do something, you’re pretty resolute in your decision not to do it. If you decide you don’t like what I cooked there’s pretty much nothing I can do about it. Once you’ve decided something, you are sticking to that decision for life apparently.

img_3583

Your favorite foods are KD, spaghetti, sushi, and hamburgers. You asked for KD for your birthday breakfast. We had birthday pancakes with sprinkles instead. Grammy took you to “King Burger” for your annual birthday date last night. Almost every time we’re in Winnipeg you’re also of a sudden hungry for a “buhger”. We go through drive-thrus more often than I’m comfortable admitting. I can’t say no to your face and you know it.

You still love sleeping. You already when back to bed for a rest once this morning. (You were up so early today- SOOOO excited for your birthday!) You would take a nap every day if I let you, and if you ever catch me dozing on the couch, you’re like, “I’m gonna have a nap too Mom!!” You literally love napping. Like your Mama. I love your little sleep-loving self so much.

I just feel so lucky I get to be your Mom, Ivy. I love all the time we get to spend together. I’m excited to watch a girly movie with you today and to go out for sushi at a real restaurant instead of just Superstore. You’re a true gift to me Ivy and I love you so very much. Happy 5th birthday Baby.

img_4115

ps: when Seth, Ben, and Oliver turned five. Apparently I didn’t write anything meaningful when Seth turned five. Sorry buddy. I’m sure you were a great kid then. 🙂

I love your comments! Leave one!

