Oliver :: Seven

On Sunday we celebrated Oliver’s seventh birthday, Captain Underpants style. I made capes for the kids, Oliver drew a big Tippy Tinkletrousers on our chalkboard, and my good old pinata-making brother-in-law made a gitch pinata. Oliver REALLY wanted an underpants pinata, and, not-surprisingly, those don’t seem to be readily available at the party store. Uncle Adam to the rescue! The kids thought it was the absolute best. It was hanging out on the deck, and every new kid that arrived got taken straight outside- “come see Oliver’s pinata! It’s hilarious!” It was perfect. It always does my heart good to see my little introvert surrounded by all his friends, who, judging by their birthday cards, really seem to get him and his sense of humor. It was such a great day.

IMG_4648IMG_4653IMG_8194IMG_4657IMG_8208IMG_8197IMG_4824

Oliver had so much fun and received so many great presents- art supplies, lego, and books. I love how excited kids get to give their gifts. Oliver read every card and all the kids were cracking up at some of them.

IMG_4709IMG_4740IMG_4752

Did you notice- there were GIRLS at Oliver’s party! So fun to have a mix at a birthday and I think this may have been our first every birthday party where the guest list wasn’t comprised solely of boys. One of the girls even wrote “love you he he” on her card for Oliver. Neil and I had a good little chuckle. These lovely children ate the Captain Underpants cake almost all up, an then had a great time whacking at the very-heavy-duty pinata. It was so much fun.

IMG_4819IMG_4814IMG_4834IMG_4836IMG_4878

We ended the day off with a quick trip to the ER for Ben, who cut his foot on a sharp rock and needed four stitches. He didn’t cry even once, and really didn’t even waiver from his usual happy face, throughout it all. He even watched the doctor put the local aneasthetic in his gaping wound with hardly more than a mild teeth-clenching. I was super proud of him. Honestly I think he was just enjoying all the extra screen-time.

Yesterday we skipped school to hang out for Oliver’s birthday. We were planning to head to the Narcisse snake pits but the weather screwed up those plans. Neil took the afternoon off work and took the boys to see Guardians of the Galaxy 2 instead. Oliver played with his lego and puzzles and pile of new Captain Underpants books. He had a great birthday. I can’t believe he’s seven now. I feel like he might always be my baby. He’s my boy baby and Ivy’s my girl baby, although since Ivy is often more independent I probably consider Oliver more of my baby than I do her.

He’s such an amazing kid, my Oliver. His mind works in such an incredible way. He still spends almost every waking minute drawing or writing at the table, although now that he is a reader, he can be found curled up with a book fairly often too. He’s not much of an outside kid, but lately I’ve been convincing him to go outside just to sit on the deck and read. He’s also finally mastered the bike, and is very happy to go biking whenever he can. I’m so happy he’s got the hang of it!

He’s still planning to be an author when he grows up, but he’s also leaning heavily to being a massage therapist too. He is very interested in massage therapy and is always offering to give massages (of course he loves to receive too!). He has designed a logo for his own massage place (msos dot com- “massage” is a tricky word to spell!). He has made us countless gift certificates for free massages although he recently started charging 50 cents a session. He can give a pretty good massage but be warned- he WILL massage your buns when you least expect it!

Oliver’s tender heart is my favorite thing, although it leaves my heart on edge so much- just worrying over his heart. Neil and I definitely don’t worry about our other kids the same way we worry over Oliver. He’s so sensitive and gentle, and I just never want to see him hurt. He would never, and honestly HAS NEVER, hurt anyone on purpose. Never. I’ve basically never had to discipline him for anything. He would just never do anything to offend or hurt anyone. He’s just the sweetest child and I feel like my heart could just burst open I love him so much.

Anyway, happy birthday my dear Oliver. Being your mother makes me the luckiest person ever.

IMG_1558

ps when Oliver turned onetwo, threefourfivesix! And just for fun, his birth story (it’s a good one!).

One thought on “Oliver :: Seven

I love your comments! Leave one!

